Murder She Wrote

Murder She Wrote is a staple of daytime TV all over the world.  It’s the one programme I’ve seen in both Thai and Czech, which was an interesting experience.  It seems odd that most crime shows involve people solving the crime, who aren’t qualified to do so.  I blame Sherlock Holmes.  He started it.  He went about his investigations in such an arrogant and original way, that he became the go to blue print for modern detectives today.

Now there’s a whole army of these vigilantes going around, sticking their oar in.  Image if that happened in real life?  The Met are investigating a brutal murder when up pops Father Brown to save the day.

There are some parallels with this and healthcare. When you go for an appointment, quite often you a met by Jessica Fletcher rather than DCI Tennyson.  On the surface, there is nothing wrong with Jessica Fletcher.  She solves the crime and everyone is happy.  Yet something is missing.  Police work is often quite boring.  Trawling through phone records and CCTV to get the evidence to prove your case.  But Jessica glosses over that.  Instead it’s all a big adventure.

This is why encountering a Jessica Fletcher in your appointment can be annoying.  They don’t know the detail.  Details are everything in healthcare.  When was your last scan?  What medication are you on?  When was your last blood test? Jessica Fletcher ignores all this.  She wants you out of that room as quickly as possible.  Yet she’s not horrible.  She wants you to feel better.  She is a doctor after all.  Yet when you are spat out at the other end, you are still left with your questions unanswered, bewildered in the waiting room.

That was exactly how I was feeling after all my to-ing and fro-ing in the eye clinic.  No one really knew or cared about the nitty gritty.  Just keep dolling out the eye drops and all was good.  Frustrated I phoned Melissa, my cancer care nurse in ENT.  She was sympathetic.   Within a week, she arranged an appointment for me to see my oncologist and a plastic surgeon at the end of the month.  Simples.  Hopefully now DCI Tennyson would be on the case…

Author: candaytimetvcurecancer

Hi! My name is Anna Read. I live in Nottingham with my husband and my retired greyhound called Sookie. My life changed on Thursday 6th January 2011 at ten past five. I was told that I had cancer. Throughout my cancer journey there was one consistent. That was daytime TV. Can Daytime TV Cure Cancer? documents my treatments, experiences and general view on life through the banal daytime TV programmes I watched while recuperating. Strangely these programmes helped me to accept that situation that I found that myself in. I now realise that being diagnosed with cancer wasn’t the end of my life but only the beginning.

Leave a Reply

